Open Days


OPEN DAYS
 11am-3pm
Guided tours take place at various times throughout the year but the date for our next Open Day has not yet been set   In the meantime, if you would like the opportunity to explore the church,  please contact jwhiteheadpr@aol.com   
 or why not come along after the Sunday Service at 11am when refreshments are served (or by appointment).  Alternatively the church is open on Wednesdays 10.30am-12.30pm.

The arts and crafts stained glass windows were created by Louis Davis (1867-1941) himself a parishioner of St Anselms and made by the local Wealdstone Whitefriars Glass Company.  There is also a magnificent carved oak rood-screen to see which was actually banned by The Bishops Court at first but happily, their decision was overturned. It was created by the architect Charles Spooner.  The splendid 'Father Willis' organ  was delivered to the church by horse and cart from the Royal College of Music in 1911 as a memorial to King Edward VII .  The window in the baptistery contains a fragment from the devastated mediaeval Ypres Cathedral in Belgium brought back by a former server who was later killed in the First World War. The site was donated by Mr Thomas Blackwell of the Crosse and Blackwell family and the church was completed in 1894. It served the Commercial Travellers School (opened by Prince Albert in 1850), which is now the Harrow Arts Centre.  A booklet on the history of the church is available. The Church is one of the few ancient buildings left in Hatch End and is a Grade 2 listed building designed by the Architect Spooner.



 
 Publicity: Jill Whitehead 07714 200481 e.mail: jwhiteheadpr@aol.com