History

Tucked away in Westfield Park, the grounds of this lovely Victorian Church once stretched down to the Uxbridge Road but now it cannot be seen from the main road and visitors are surprised to discover such an impressive neo Gothic building hidden from view. St Anselm's features Whitefriars stained glass windows, a unique carved oak rood chancel screen and a magnificent Willis organ. 

With the site donated by Mr Thomas Blackwell of the Crosse and Blackwell family and gifts totalling some £7000, the church was completed in 1895 and boasts a number of special features.


Many of the beautiful stained glass windows were made by the Wealdstone Whitefriars Glass Company and designed by Louis Davis of the Arts and Crafts movement. The West Window incorporates a small piece of clear ruby glass brought from a shattered window in Ypres Cathedral during WWI by a chorister, who died in France a few days before the window was dedicated.

A magnificent carved oak rood-screen was given to the church but the Bishop’s Court would not at first allow the screen to be erected, on the grounds that it might lead people to ‘superstitious practices and observances.’ Happily, the decision was overruled at an appeal and it was installed and dedicated in 1902. 

The splendid Willis organ was formerly the property of The Royal Academy of Music and was gifted to the church in 1911 by parishoners and friends together with a trust set up to maintain the organ, now sadly exhausted. 

We hope you will come along and take pleasure in a visit to this lovely local church. Booklets on the history of the church are available. The church is always open after the Sunday Service when refreshments are served from 11am -12 noon.  Booklets on the history of the church are available.